Amelia peabody series order

Amelia Peabody series in order by Elizabeth Peters

We finally have an amazing list with all Amelia Peabody books in order, a series centering on the character by the same name written by American author Elizabeth Peters. These books narrate the quests of an egyptologist. and there is lots of adventure and mystery.

Here you will have the Amelia Peabody series order, and also we will recommend some similar novels of the same genre. Let’s begin!

Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Peabody books in order

The best way to enjoy this series by Elizabeth Peters is to read the the Amelia Peabody books in order of publication, this is how we recommend you to read these novels.

These are all the Amelia Peabody novels in order, if you click on any of the covers you will be able to get them at the best price we found:

3. The Mummy Case

▷See Best Price!

4. Lion in the Valley

▷See Best Price!

5. Deeds of the Disturber

▷See Best Price!

6. The Last Camel

▷See Best Price!

7. The Snake, the Crocodile

▷See Best Price!

8. The Hippopotamus Pool

▷See Best Price!

9. Seeing a Large Cat

▷See Best Price!

10. The Ape Who Guards

▷See Best Price!

11. Guardian of the Horizon

▷See Best Price!

12. A River in the Sky

▷See Best Price!

14. The Painted Queen

▷See Best Price!

16. Lord of the Silent

▷See Best Price!

17. The Golden One

▷See Best Price!

18. Children of the Storm

▷See Best Price!

20. Tomb of the Golden Bird

▷See Best Price!

Now that you have all Amelia Peabody books in order check out these series too!

Once you have finished reading these novels by Elizabeth Peters you might be wondering what to read next. Here you have three recommendations which readers who have enjoyed this series have purchased as well:

You can also check the The Seven Sisters books in order, which is another popular historical fiction series which you will surely enjoy as well.

A list with Elizabeth Peters books in order Amelia Peabody series

This is a list of all the Amelia Peabody books written by Elizabeth Peters, hope it is useful for you:

Elizabeth Peters books in order Amelia Peabody

Amelia Peabody book series


  • William Morrow

Reading order:

  • Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody book 1)
  • The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody book 2)
  • The Mummy Case (Amelia Peabody book 3)
  • Lion in the Valley (Amelia Peabody book 4)
  • Deeds of the Disturber (Amelia Peabody book 5)
  • The Last Camel Died at Noon (Amelia Peabody book 6)
  • The Snake, the Crocodile, and the Dog (Amelia Peabody book 7)
  • The Hippopotamus Pool (Amelia Peabody book 8)
  • Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody book 9)
  • The Ape Who Guards the Balance (Amelia Peabody book 10)
  • Guardian of the Horizon (Amelia Peabody book 11)
  • A River in the Sky (Amelia Peabody book 12)
  • The Falcon at the Portal (Amelia Peabody book 13)
  • The Painted Queen (completed by Joan Hess) (Amelia Peabody book 14)
  • He Shall Thunder in the Sky (Amelia Peabody book 15)
  • Lord of the Silent (Amelia Peabody book 16)
  • The Golden One (Amelia Peabody book 17)
  • Children of the Storm (Amelia Peabody book 18)
  • The Serpent on the Crown (Amelia Peabody book 19)
  • Tomb of the Golden Bird (Amelia Peabody book 20)

There you have all the 20 books in the Amelia Peabody book series, let’s know a bit more about these novels, shall we?

What is this series about?

As said before, this series narrates the adventures of Amelia Peabody. She is an egyptologist from England who after inheriting a fortune from her father decides to leave her country in order to see the world.

If you start reading the series you will notice that the earlier books in the series are narrated in first person narrative. This stops being so since the ninth novel in the series, Seeing a Large Cat, being then narrated in third person.

While most of the series takes place in Egypt, Amelia will visit other places such as Sudan, or Palestine, together with England of course. You will really enjoy this series if you are into suspense, adventure, and also humor.

The author name Elizabeth Peters is actually a pseudonym, being her real name Barbara Mertz, who was an Egyptologist.

We hope you enjoyed this post, if you like fantasy then you can read the Shattered Realms books, you will enjoy them.

Have you read any of the books in this series? if so, please leave a comment telling us what you liked the most about this story? do you think Amelia is a great character? tell us everything you want about her and if you relate to her in any way.

Discover more on Wottaread.

1 Comment on "Amelia Peabody series in order by Elizabeth Peters"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series