Diary of a Wimpy Kid in order: how many books are there?

If you keep wondering what is the order to read the Diary of a Wimpy Kid book series by Jeff Kinney here you will find the answer. And not only that, but we are going to recommend an amazing book set to you so you can get the first 10 volumes in the series, sounds good uh?

But that’s not all, not only we will tell you how many Diary of a Wimpy Kid books are there but we will also suggest some similar book series for you to discover!

Best order to read the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series

I suggest you read the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books in order of publication. In this case, publication order and chronology order are the same, which makes sense since this is the story of a boy who is writing a diary after all, so he narrates the events as he lives them.

Here you have all the books in the series, you can get any of these by clicking on their cover or the orange button. You can take a look at the reviews from those who have already read them by clicking on the blue button, the first book in the series has more than 7,500 reviews already!

In addition, here goes our most recommended Diary of a Wimpy Kid book set, it collects the first 10 volumes in the series, so it’s a perfect start to discover Greg’s story:

This book set has a 4.8 out of 5 stars rating and more than 600 reviews, so no doubt it’s good!

Now that we told you in which order to read the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, don’t miss these recomendations

This story is quite long so you will be entertained for a while. But the day when you’ve read all the books of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series will arrive an so, why not be prepared for that by having decided what to read next? here you have 3 great book series recomendations:

You will probably enjoy this other series as well, so I would like recommend you to take a look at the Big Nate books in order.

Additionally, you can take a look at this post in which we have gathered lots of books series like Diary of a Wimpy kid, so don’t miss them because they are great fod mid schoolers.

Do you have to read Diary of a wimpy kid in order?

Each of the books in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series tell a self conclussive story, therefore they can be read as a stand alone. However, while it is not crucial to read these books by Jeff Kinney following a particular order, we believe you’ll enjoy them way more if you read in publication order.

Therefore, you will see better how Greg’s life progresses. But, as said, it is not crucial for this series.

The following list shows you all the Diary of a Wimpy Kid in order of publication (as we showed them at the beginning of this post):

Diary of a wimpy kid in order

Diary of a wimpy books


  • Amulet Books

Reading order:

  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid
  • Rodrick Rules
  • The Last Straw
  • Dog Days
  • The Ugly Truth
  • Cabin Fever
  • The Third Wheel
  • Hard Luck
  • The Long Haul
  • Old School
  • Double Down
  • The Getaway
  • The Meltdown
  • Wrecking Ball
  • The Deep End
  • Movie Diary 1
  • Movie Diary 2

The books in this series are around 200 pages long, therefore, they are a quick read for children.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid reading level

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid books narrate the story of Greg Heffley, a boy who has a challenge to beat: surviving middle school.

The reading level for this series is Grades 4 – 10, that is, these books are adressed to kids between nine and twelve years old.

Why should you start reading these books?

This story is really fun, the illustrations are just hilarious while the plot has lots of twists and funny situations. You will learn how Greg Heffley deals with the fact of attending a new school.

As it may seem obvious the book is written in the form of a diary (but remember, the idea of starting a diary was Greg’s mom, not his). A different way to tell a story (well, actually other famous series that do this, but you know what I mean) in which we will understand the main character’s feelings better. If you are up for a fun series with illustrations then The Wimpy Kid books by Jeff Kinney are what you are looking for.

Now that you have all the Diary of a Wimpy kid books in order you have no excuse not to enjoy this series. While it is true that this story is adressed to kids, you can actually enjoy this story at any age since it is a comedic series in which the situations in which Greg gets involved are just hilarious.

So, will you start reading this series? maybe you wanted to get a Diary of a Wimpy Kid book set as a gift for someone? leave a comment now telling us which of the books in the series is your favorite.

1 Comment on "Diary of a Wimpy Kid in order: how many books are there?"

  • I was looking for something similar to Captain Underpants (my kido loves it) and I think this might be it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series