Halo Book series in order

Are you seeking all the Halo books in order? then you will find them here. If you like this videogame franchise you are lucky, because there are lots of Halo novels for you to enjoy. You’ll will find a useful list of the Halo book series in order, but in case you want to know where to start, Fall of Reach is the first Halo book you should read.

Here goes the most recommended order for the Halo books, also if you click on their cover you will be able to get them. Let’s begin, you should start with the Halo individual novels. By the way, if you want to get any of these books you can get them just by clicking on their cover:

Then you should read the Halo The Forerunner Saga:

19. Cryptum

▷Click to read it!

20. Primordium

▷Click to read it!

21. Silentium

▷Click to read it!

Next one is the Halo Kilo-Five Trilogy:

22. Glasslands

▷Click to read it!

23.The Thursday War

▷Click to read it!

24. Mortal Dictata

▷Click to read it!

Now it’s time for Halo A Master Chief Story:

25. Silent Storm

▷Click to read it!

26. Oblivion

▷Click to read it!

27. Shadows of Reach

▷Click to read it!

And last but not least, the Halo Battle Born series:

28. Battle Born

▷Click to read it!

29. Meridian Divide

▷Click to read it!

Now that you have all the Halo Books in order, maybe you would like to get a Halo box set?

There are many cool Halo box book sets, here you can take a look at them:

With the Halo book series we will learn more about this amazing universe. And for that, you need this Halo books reading order. Any of these Halo box set recommendations are a great way to start this series.

The Halo books are a must read for anyone who has played any videogame of this popular franchise, and these sets are a great way to get into this series.

Halo Books in order: how should I read these series?

There is a total of 30 Halo books. The best way to read them is starting with the individual novels in publication order, and then read the other four Halo book series.

The last book in the series, Halo Point of Light, is written by Kelly Gay and is the sequel of Renegades.

Here you have all Halo books in order. If you want to take a look at any of these books just click on their cover, the link will take you to Amazon where you will be able to read the blurb, see the price, etc (don’t worry, it will open in a new tab).

Halo books series in order list: a super useful list for you

This list might be useful for you. Here there’s all Halo books in order including useful information as is the author, the publication date and the saga it belongs to:

Halo book order

Halo books


  • Gallery Books

Reading order:

  • Halo: The Fall of Reach – Eric Nylund – 2001
  • Halo: The Flood – William C. Dietz – 2003
  • Halo: First Strike – Eric Nylund – 2003
  • Halo: Ghosts of Onyx – Eric Nylund – 2006
  • Halo: Contact Harvest – Joseph Staten – 2007
  • Halo: The Cole Protocol – Tobias Buckell – 2008
  • Halo: Broken Circle – John Shirley – 2014
  • Halo: New Blood – Matt Forbeck – 2015
  • Halo: Hunters in the Dark – Peter David – 2015
  • Halo: Saint’s Testimony – Frank O’Connor – 2015
  • Halo: Last Light – Troy Denning – 2015
  • Halo: Shadow of Intent – Joseph Staten – 2015
  • Halo: Smoke and Shadow – Kelly Gay – 2016
  • Halo: Envoy – Tobias Buckell – 2017
  • Halo: Retribution – Troy Denning – 2017
  • Halo: Legacy of Onyx – Matt Forbeck – 2017
  • Halo: Bad Blood – Matt Forbeck – 2018
  • Halo: Renegades – Kelly Gay – 2019
  • Halo: Point of Light – Kelly Gay –2021 –
  • Halo: Cryptum – Greg Bear – 2011 – The Forerunner Saga
  • Halo: Primordium – Greg Bear – 2012 – The Forerunner Saga
  • Halo: Silentium – Greg Bear – 2013 – The Forerunner Saga
  • Halo: Glasslands – Karen Traviss – 2011 – Kilo-Five Trilogy
  • Halo: The Thursday War – Karen Traviss – 2012 – Kilo-Five Trilogy
  • Halo: Mortal Dictata – Karen Traviss – 2014 – Kilo-Five Trilogy
  • Halo: Silent Storm – Troy Denning – 2018 – A Master Chief Story
  • Halo: Oblivion – Troy Denning – 2019 – A Master Chief Story
  • Halo: Shadows of Reach – Troy Denning – 2020 – A Master Chief Story
  • Halo: Battle Born – Cassandra Rose Clarke – 2019 – Battle Born
  • Halo: Meridian Divide – Cassandra Rose Clarke – 2019 – Battle Born

Are the Halo books canonical?

While the Halo novels take in place in the same universe as the videogames developed by Creative Asssembly, they have their own narrative line. Having said this, it is important to know that the Halo books are actually canonical and even some of the events taking place in the novels have been lately introduced in the subsequent installments of the video game series.

Do I have to play the videogames to enjoy this series?

Actually not, the Halo book series can be read as an standalone and therefore there is no need to have played the video games in order to enjoy it. However, Halo is an amazing franchise and you should give the video games a try if you are a gamer.

If you are a fan of the scifi series then you can’t miss this list with the best Star Wars books. Speaking of SW, did you know there is a series adressed to kids? take a look at this post with the Jedy Academy books in order.

Discover more on Wottaread.

9 Comments on "Halo Book series in order"

  • Wow, such an easy guide to read the Halo books! thank you so much for this.

  • Amazing thanks!

  • My Xbox broke so I guess I will have to read the books lol, are they action focused? hope so!

  • Like!! Thank you for publishing this awesome article.

  • I got here by a mere coincidence, I was searching about Halo and now that I am aware that these books exist I have no choice but to buy them

  • Amazing, thank you!

  • with the available technology at hand today, a television series of the books would be a great segway for the entertainment of the public. Stargate missed out when they ceased to follow up on all of the possible events . You have no idea how many of us do not game.!!!! PS> and are not interested to game.

  • Just curious if someone has an updated list for the most recently published installment, Point of Light? Looks like it takes place in 2558, and is continuing the story line of Rion Forge. We met her in Smoke and Shadow, right?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series