Horus Heresy reading order

Horus Heresy book order

Looking for the Horus Heresy reading order? This science fiction series is set in the fictional world of Warhammer 40k (10 thousand years earlier to be honest), a tabletop miniatures wargame created by the company Games Workshop. Want to know the Horus Heresy book order? time to find out! Just a quick spoiler, the first book in the series is Horus Rising.

Experience a breathtaking medieval fantasy series with elemental magical swords, perfect for teens and fans of Avatar: The Last Airbender.

This is the best reading order for The Horus Heresy books, if you click on their cover you will be able to get any book in this series, and read the reviews of all those heretic wargamer fans that already read these novels:

Now that you know The Horus Heresy reading order, check out these other novels

Now that you know The Horus Heresy reading order, maybe you want to read some novels about your favorite armies in the 40k universe. Here are 3 great suggestions:

Also, did you like the medieval wargame as well? then you shouldn’t miss this list with the best Warhammer fantasy books.

Horus Heresy read order, the book order you need to start this series:

The best order to read the Horus Heresy books is in the publication order. This scifi series is composed of 56 novels, therefore it’s a really long series. But hey, that’s a cool thing, it means more Heresy!

Here you have the Horus Heresy book order. If you want to check out any of these books just click on its cover, the link will take you to Amazon (don’t worry, it will open in a new tab so you can keep checking the other Horus Heresy books).

Horus Heresy reading order list with all the books 2020

If you want a list with the Horus Heresy book order here you have it:

Horus Heresy book order

Horus Heresy book order

Horus Heresy read order


  • Black Library

Reading order:

  • Horus Rising
  • False Gods
  • Galaxy in Flames
  • The Flight of the Eisenstein
  • Fulgrim
  • Descent of Angels
  • Legion
  • Battle for the Abyss
  • Mechanicum
  • Tales of Heresy
  • Fallen Angels
  • A Thousand Sons
  • Nemesis
  • The First Heretic
  • Prospero Burns
  • Age of Darkness
  • The Outcast Dead
  • Deliverance Lost
  • Know No Fear
  • The Primarchs
  • Fear to Tread
  • Shadows of Treachery
  • Angel Exterminatus
  • Betrayer
  • Mark of Calth
  • Vulkan Lives
  • The Unremembered Empire
  • Scars
  • Vengeful Spirit
  • The Damnation of Pythos
  • Legacies of Betrayal
  • Deathfire
  • War Without End
  • Pharos
  • Eye of Terra
  • The Path of Heaven
  • The Silent War
  • Angels of Caliban
  • Praetorian of Dorn
  • Corax
  • The Master of Mankind
  • Garro
  • Shattered Legions
  • The Crimson King
  • Tallarn
  • Ruinstorm
  • Old Earth
  • The Burden of Loyalty
  • Wolfsbane
  • Born of Flame
  • Slaves to Darkness
  • Heralds of the Siege
  • Titandeath
  • The Buried Dagger
  • The Solar War
  • The Lost and the Damned

Don’t miss this promotion:

take it before it ends:

As you can see in this Horus Heresy reading order list the last book in this series is The Lost and the Damned. We will be update this list as soon as the Black Library releases news titles of this series.

The Horus Heresy series takes place 10,000 years prior to the events of Warhammer 40,000, during the galaxy-spanning civil war. These books are published by the Black Library, and the Horus Heresy books are penned by several authors.

Are the Heresy books good?

The general tone of the reviews of those who have read this series has been positive. However, some readers have complained about the length of this series (as you can see, so far The Horus Heresy series is composed of 56 novels) since it narrates the story of different characters.

This is a great series if you are a fan of Warhammer40k, the futuristic miniature wargame created by the Brith company Games Workshop. The Horus Heresy books will provide you an overall understanding of why the future Warhammer is the way it is since this series takes place 10k years before, that is, Warhammer 30k. If you like the tabletop miniatures wargame it’s a must-read.

Also, it is important that follow the Horus Heresy reading order shown above. Why? because it’s a complex series, and you’ll really get lost if you don’t read the books in the proper order.

I hope you enjoy this scifi series. Will you start reading the Horus Heresy books? don’t forget to leave a comment! Also, how did you discover this series? did you play to the tabletop board games or maybe it was thanks to the videogames? let’s start a nice debate!

16 Comments on "Horus Heresy book order"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series