Got Logo

How to read A Song of Ice and Fire

How to read A Song of Ice and Fire
5 (100%) 1 vote

Now that Game of Thrones tv series has ended you might want to start reading A Song of Ice and Fire, the original epic fantasy series that inspired the drama television series Game of Thrones. You might not be happy about how season 8 ended, so why not revisit the Seven Kingdoms through the books? If you want to know how to read A Song of Ice and fire, here you will find the answer.

I don’t think A Song of Ice and Fire needs to be introduced, even so here’s a small summary: ASOIAF is an epic fantasy series written by the American author George R.R Martin. This saga shows a grim and dark world, the main action taking place in the Continent of Westeros and Essos, in an interwoven story told from the point of view of different characters. A Song of Ice covers revenge, drama, fantastical creatures including dragons, medieval noble houses, war, politics and so much more.

In what order should I read A Song of Ice and Fire?

In case you are considering the proper order for this series,  I recommend you reading them in published order. A Song of Ice and Fire consists of seven books. Unfortunately, two of them have not been published yet (and don’t have a publishing date either).

Here you go, this is the best order to read A Song of Ice and Fire:

How to read A song of Ice and Fire

Keyword read order


  • A Game of Thrones.
  • A Clash of Kings.
  • A Storm of Swords. 
  • A Feast for Crows.
  • A Dance with Dragons.
  • The Winds of Winter (unpublished)
  • A Dream of Spring (unpublished)

Here you go. ASOIAF is a really entertaining saga. For those who watched the tv series and haven’t read the books, you will be surprised to know that some of the characters that get killed in the tv adaptation are still alive in the books and according to George R.R Martin not all of them will die as it happens in the adaptation. Who knows? maybe even the ending will be different?

Discover more on Wottaread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *