riyria best reading order

Riyria reading order by Michael J. Sullivan

Want to know Riyria reading order? don’t worry, if you want to know how to read Riyria by Michael J. Sullivan here you will find the answer. This is a high fantasy book series that started being written as an indie work, and now it’s published by Orbit publishing.

But not only you will find the order of the Riyria books. If you like to collect paper books, or maybe if you are a bookstagrammer, you will find a super cool Riyria Revelations box set here, so keep reading!

Riyria reading order: In what order should I read Riyria by Michael J. Sullivan?

According to the author of this epic fantasy novels, Michael J. Sullivan, the best way to read the Riyria books is in publication order. So, let’s listen to the author’s words, shall we?

Here is the Riryia reading order. As usual, if you want to take a look at any of these books just click on its cover, the link will take you to Amazon where you can read the reviews, the blurb, see the price, and even buy the book:

The books from below show the Riyria books in order of publication, if you want to read Riyria in chronological order you will find a list below.

Now that you had the Riyria reading order, maybe you would want to get a great Riyria Revelations box set?

In case you like to collect books, then this Riyria Revelations box set should be part of your collection. It has 4.9 out of 5 stars with more than 50 reviews:

So far there are no Riyria box sets for Chronicles or First Empire, but I’ll keep the list updated and include these box sets as soon as they get released.

A list with the Riyria reading order

Here goes a handy list with all the books in the Ryria series:

Riyria reading order

Riyria books in order


  • Orbit

Reading order:

  • Theft of Swords (The Riyria Revelations)
  • Rise of Empire (The Riyria Revelations)
  • Heir of Novron (The Riyria Revelations)
  • The Crown Tower (The Riyria Chronicles)
  • The Rose and the Thorn (The Riyria Chronicles)
  • The Death of Dulgath (The Riyria Chronicles)
  • The Disappearance of Winter's Daughter (The Riyria Chronicles)
  • Age of Myth (The First Empire)
  • Age of Swords (The First Empire)
  • Age of War (The First Empire)
  • Age of Legend  (The First Empire)

If you want to read novels for free, here you have two months of Kindle Unlimited free of charge:

Riyria series chronological order

Some readers suggest reading the Riyria series in chronological order . For those who want to give a try to this approach, you just have to read these three series oppositedly to their publication order, that is, first Legends of the First Empire, then Chronicles and lastly Revelations.

Now that you know the Riyria series reading order , you might want to purchase the books, you can do so by clicking on the links from before.

Let’s know more about this amazing series by Michael J. Sullivan

Currently, there are three series that take place in Elan, the fictional world where Riyria is set. These series are:

Riyria Revelations: this is the original series, the ones that started this epic fantasy series. This series is composed of the following books Theft of Swords, Rise of Empire and Heir of Novron.

Riyria Chronicles: a prequel to Riyria Revelations, occurring ten years in the past. Composed of The Crown Tower, The Rose and the Thorn, The Death of Dulgath and The Disappearance of Winter’s Daughter.

Legends of the First Empire: a series also set in the world of Elan but taking place 3.000 years before the events of the original series. Composed of Age of Myth, Age of Swords, Age of War, Age of Legend, Age of Death and Age of Empyre.

Notice that Legends of the First Empire takes place a long time ago, as a result, not only all the characters are different, but also the cultures and technology.

If you were wondering what was the perfect reading order for Riyria here you have the answer. Keep reading!

Also, if you want to read more amazing series then you should take a look at this post with the Percy Jackson reading order. Or, in case you haven’t read these yet, you check out the Divergent series order (the books are better than the movies, trust me).

Discover more on Wottaread.

2 Comments on "Riyria reading order by Michael J. Sullivan"

  • A friend told me about this fantasy series, so I decided to give it a try. It’s longer than I expected but I bought the first book just to see how it is

  • I read them in chronological and was glad I did.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series