Jack Ryan reading order order: Tom Clancy books series

Looking for an updated list with all the Jack Ryan books in order? here you will find the proper reading order for this series written by the American author Tom Clancy. An amazing series that you must read.

This is the most recommended Jack Ryan reading order, we collected all the books at the best price we found as well. Also, check out the book set recommendation in the next section!

1. Hunt for Red October

▷See Best Price!

2. Patriot Games

▷See Best Price!

4. Clear and Present Danger

▷See Best Price!

5. The Sum of All Fears

▷See Best Price!

6. Without Remorse

▷See Best Price!

7. Debt of Honor

▷See Best Price!

8. Executive Orders

▷See Best Price!

9. Rainbow Six

▷See Best Price!

10. The Bear and the Dragon

▷See Best Price!

11. Red Rabbit

▷See Best Price!

12. The Teeth of the Tiger

▷See Best Price!

13. Dead or Alive

▷See Best Price!

14. Locked On

▷See Best Price!

15. Threat Vector

▷See Best Price!

16. Command Authority

▷See Best Price!

17. Full Force and Effect

▷See Best Price!

18. Commander in Chief

▷See Best Price!

20. Point of Contact

▷See Best Price!

21. Power and Empire

▷See Best Price!

22. Line of Sight

▷See Best Price!

23. Oath of Office

▷See Best Price!

Now that you have all the Jack Ryan books in order, maybe you would like to get a Jack Ryan box set with all the novels?

This is a great Jack Ryan box set with which collects twelve of the books in this series.

If you like to collect books (or maybe have a bookstagram), you will find this great Jack Ryan book set recommendation as the perfect opportunity to start your Jack Ryan book collection. This series is pretty long, so it is normal that you don’t know which Jack Ryan book should you read first, but you know now!

Jack Ryan books in order: what is the best way to read Tom Clancy books?

Jack Ryan’s books can be read both in publication order and chronological order. It’s a matter of taste and you can enjoy them both ways.

Usually, Tom Clancy fans recommend the chronological order for the Jack Ryan series. You’ll have both here. Personally, I prefer reading books in publication order and the Jack Ryan series is not an exception.

We showed you all the Jack Ryan books in order, if you want to read them i chronological order you will find them listed below.

A list with the Jack Ryan series in publication order

Here goes a handful list with all the Jack Ryan books in order:

Jack Ryan books in order

Tom Clancy Jack Ryan series reading order
Keyword jack ryan books, jack ryan books in order, jack ryan series in order, tom clancy books, tom clancy books in order, tom clancy jack ryan books, tom clancy jack ryan series


  • G.P. Putnam's Sons

Reading order:

  • The Hunt for Red October
  • Patriot Games
  • The Cardinal of the Kremlin
  • Clear and Present Danger
  • The Sum of All Fears
  • Without Remorse
  • Debt of Honor
  • Executive Orders
  • Rainbow Six
  • The Bear and the Dragon
  • Red Rabbit
  • The Teeth of the Tiger
  • Dead or Alive
  • Locked On
  • Threat Vector
  • Command Authority
  • Full Force and Effect
  • Commander in Chief
  • True Faith and Allegiance
  • Point of Contact
  • Power and Empire
  • Line of Sight
  • Oath of Office

Jack Ryan books in chronological order

If you want to read Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan novels in chronological order then here you have this list:

  • Without Remorse.
  • Patriot Games.
  • Red Rabbit.
  • The Hunt for Red October.
  • The Cardinal of the Kremlin.
  • Clear and Present Danger.
  • The Sum of all Fears.
  • Debt of Honor.
  • Executive Orders.
  • Rainbow Six.
  • The Bear and Dragon.
  • The Teeth of the Tiger.
  • Dead or Alive.
  • Locked On.
  • Threat Vector.
  • Command Authority.
  • Support and Defend.
  • Full Force and Effect.
  • Under Fire.
  • Commander In Chief.
  • True Faith and Allegiance.
  • Point of Contact.
  • Power and Empire.
  • Line of Sight.
  • Oath of Office.

Who’s Jack Ryan?

If you have searched for Jack Ryan reading order you probably know what this Tom Clancy book series is about, but in case you came here by a mere coincidence:

Jack Ryan is a former U.S. Marine and stockbroker who becomes a civilian history professor at the United States Naval Academy. Ryan later joins the Central Intelligence Agency as an analyst and occasional field officer, eventually leaving it as Deputy Director. He later served as National Security Advisor and Vice President before suddenly becoming President of the United States following a terrorist attack on the United States Capitol. Ryan went on to serve two non-consecutive terms and mostly dealt with international crises in Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and Africa.

If you like Jack Ryan’s books then take also a look at this Jack Reacher reading order, a series with a similar tone.

Discover more on Wottaread.

4 Comments on "Jack Ryan reading order order: Tom Clancy books series"

  • I just discoverd recently that the movies were based on a book series by Tom Clancy, oh my, I blame society for this

    • Is learning about military and civil use technology an issue, plus a family that is educated, professional, and displays a close knit family unit with long term friends and associates unafraid to be patriotic disconcerting?

      Politics in all its forms is a blood sport and real in life…

  • Of all the actors that have portrayed Jack Ryan the best one was Harrison Ford, no doubt. Funnily, I have only read one book in this series, so I thought it was time to change that.

    Thanks for this list, really heplful.

  • Thank you for linking them to Amazon, I got the first three novels in the series. Me and my husband will read them so we can talk about them while having a great dinner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this post