Halo books order

Halo Book series in order

Are you seeking all the Halo books in order? then you will find them here. If you like this videogame franchise you are lucky, because there are lots of Halo novels for you to enjoy. This series brings to life the thrilling, expansive lore you love, fleshing out the intricate backstories and electrifying conflicts of the iconic Halo universe.

Prepare to be captivated by the rich narratives and unforgettable characters that expand the epic saga beyond the screen!

All Halo books in order:

Here goes the most recommended order for the Halo books, also if you click on their cover you will be able to get them. Let’s begin, you should start with the Halo individual novels. By the way, if you want to get any of these books you can get them just by clicking on their cover:

Then you should read the Halo The Forerunner Saga:

Next one is the Halo Kilo-Five Trilogy:

Now it’s time for Halo A Master Chief Story:

And last but not least, the Halo Battle Born series:

So many Halo books! which is great, don’t you think? if you end up loving these stories, which we are confident you will if you like this videogame franchise, then you will have lots of novels to read. There is a total of 30 Halo books. The best way to read them is starting with the individual novels in publication order, and then read the other four Halo book series.

Now that you have all the Halo Books in order, maybe you would like to get a Halo box set?

There are many cool Halo box book sets, here you can take a look at them:

With the Halo book series, we will learn more about this amazing universe. And for that, you need this Halo books reading order. Any of these Halo box set recommendations are a great way to start this series. The Halo books are a must-read for anyone who has played any videogame of this popular franchise, and these sets are a great way to get into this series.

If you are a fan of the sci-fi series then you can’t miss this list with the best Star Wars books.

What are these books about?

Halo books in order
Halo books in order

The Halo book series is a collection of novels and short stories set in the universe of the popular Halo video game franchise. These books expand on the rich lore established by the games, delving deeper into the backstories of key characters, the history of the Halo universe, and the epic conflict between humanity and the alien Covenant. The series explores themes of warfare, survival, and heroism, often focusing on the experiences of the iconic Spartan super-soldier, Master Chief, and the artificial intelligence companion, Cortana. These narratives complement the game’s storyline, offering fans a more comprehensive understanding of the Halo universe.

These books have received a generally positive reception from both fans of the video game series and science fiction readers. Fans appreciate the deeper lore and character development that the books provide, which enhance their experience of the game universe. The series has been praised for its compelling storytelling, well-developed characters, and the way it seamlessly integrates with the plotlines of the games. This has helped the books to not only appeal to hardcore fans of the Halo games but also to attract new readers who are interested in military science fiction.

While this series has not been widely recognized in mainstream literary award circuits, its success is evident in its popularity and sales. The books have consistently performed well commercially, with several titles making it onto bestseller lists. The series’ contribution to expanding the Halo universe has been acknowledged by fans and critics alike, solidifying its place as a significant part of the Halo franchise. The acclaim the series has received is more a testament to its impact on popular culture and its role in enriching the Halo lore rather than traditional literary accolades.

Halo books series in order list: a super useful list for you

This list might be useful for you. Here there’s all Halo books in order including useful information as is the author, the publication date and the saga it belongs to:

halo book series

Halo book order

Halo books


  • Gallery Books

Reading order:

  • Halo: The Fall of Reach – Eric Nylund – 2001
  • Halo: The Flood – William C. Dietz – 2003
  • Halo: First Strike – Eric Nylund – 2003
  • Halo: Ghosts of Onyx – Eric Nylund – 2006
  • Halo: Contact Harvest – Joseph Staten – 2007
  • Halo: The Cole Protocol – Tobias Buckell – 2008
  • Halo: Broken Circle – John Shirley – 2014
  • Halo: New Blood – Matt Forbeck – 2015
  • Halo: Hunters in the Dark – Peter David – 2015
  • Halo: Saint’s Testimony – Frank O’Connor – 2015
  • Halo: Last Light – Troy Denning – 2015
  • Halo: Shadow of Intent – Joseph Staten – 2015
  • Halo: Smoke and Shadow – Kelly Gay – 2016
  • Halo: Envoy – Tobias Buckell – 2017
  • Halo: Retribution – Troy Denning – 2017
  • Halo: Legacy of Onyx – Matt Forbeck – 2017
  • Halo: Bad Blood – Matt Forbeck – 2018
  • Halo: Renegades – Kelly Gay – 2019
  • Halo: Point of Light – Kelly Gay –2021 –
  • Halo: Cryptum – Greg Bear – 2011 – The Forerunner Saga
  • Halo: Primordium – Greg Bear – 2012 – The Forerunner Saga
  • Halo: Silentium – Greg Bear – 2013 – The Forerunner Saga
  • Halo: Glasslands – Karen Traviss – 2011 – Kilo-Five Trilogy
  • Halo: The Thursday War – Karen Traviss – 2012 – Kilo-Five Trilogy
  • Halo: Mortal Dictata – Karen Traviss – 2014 – Kilo-Five Trilogy
  • Halo: Silent Storm – Troy Denning – 2018 – A Master Chief Story
  • Halo: Oblivion – Troy Denning – 2019 – A Master Chief Story
  • Halo: Shadows of Reach – Troy Denning – 2020 – A Master Chief Story
  • Halo: Battle Born – Cassandra Rose Clarke – 2019 – Battle Born
  • Halo: Meridian Divide – Cassandra Rose Clarke – 2019 – Battle Born

Don’t miss this promotion:

take it before it ends:

The Halo book series is primarily published by Tor Books and Simon & Schuster, with various titles released under imprints like Gallery Books and Del Rey Books. These publishers have been responsible for bringing the rich lore of the Halo universe to print, collaborating closely with Microsoft and 343 Industries, the developers and custodians of the Halo video game franchise.

As for the reading level, the Halo books are generally categorized as suitable for young adult and adult readers. They are written with an audience in mind that is familiar with the Halo video game series, which usually includes teenagers and adults. The content often involves complex themes, military science fiction elements, and sometimes graphic descriptions of warfare, making them more appropriate for a mature audience. However, the exact reading level can vary slightly from book to book, depending on the specific content and style of each author.

Are the Halo books canonical?

Halo series order
Halo series order

While the Halo novels take in place in the same universe as the videogames developed by Creative Asssembly, they have their own narrative line. Having said this, it is important to know that the Halo books are actually canonical and even some of the events taking place in the novels have been lately introduced in the subsequent installments of the video game series.

Do I have to play the videogames to enjoy this series?

Actually not, the Halo book series can be read as a standalone and therefore there is no need to have played the video games to enjoy it. However, Halo is an amazing franchise and you should give the video games a try if you are a gamer.

9 Comments on "Halo Book series in order"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series