Horus Heresy reading order

Horus Heresy book order [reading guide]

Here’s our guide with the Horus Heresy book order, the acclaimed science fiction series that will captivate you to another level. S set in the fictional world of Warhammer 40k (10 thousand years earlier to be more precise), these novels will tell you how this military world became the grim place devastated by war that it is.

With this reading guide you’ll be able to follow all the events in this incredibly huge project. Yes, there are several novels and it can seem a bit overwhelming at first, but you better trust us: you are about to embark on one of the best military scifi series you’ll ever read.

Horus Heresy books in order

Below you’ll find the best reading order for The Horus Heresy books, if you click on their cover you will be able to get any book in this series, and read the reviews of all those heretic wargamer fans that already read these novels:

Lots of books, isn’t it? Don’t shy away of the Horus Heresy book series because of its overwhelming extension. The story is so incredibly good that once you have read them all you’ll have wished there were more novels. Also, can be take a moment to appreciate the work on those book covers? The expire heresy and war in equal parts, don’t you think? Each of the designs is quite unique and, at the same time, includes some elements that make these books to feel like they are part of the same grim dark story.

Now that you know The Horus Heresy reading order, check out these other novels

Now that you know The Horus Heresy reading order, maybe you want to read some novels about your favorite armies in the 40k universe. Here are 3 great suggestions:

Fans of the Horus Heresy series are likely to appreciate the best Warhammer Fantasy books for several reasons. Firstly, both are set within richly detailed and expansive universes created by Games Workshop, offering deep lore and complex characters. While the Horus Heresy explores the futuristic dystopian setting of Warhammer 40,000, Warhammer Fantasy delves into a medieval world filled with magic, mythical creatures, and intense factional warfare, providing a different yet equally gripping flavor of storytelling.

In addition, we believe you’ll also find the Mass Effect books fascinating. Don’t worry this series is far shorter than the Horus Heresy book series, however, it’s a fascinating read as well.

What is this story about

Horus Heresy all books
Horus Heresy all books

The Horus Heresy book series is a collection of science fantasy novels set in the Warhammer 40,000 universe, depicting a galaxy-spanning civil war known as the Horus Heresy, which occurs 10,000 years before the setting’s present day. It’s a cornerstone event within the dystopian Warhammer 40,000 universe, focusing on a rebellion instigated by the Chaos Gods against the Imperium of Man, led by the Emperor of Man.

The series has been penned by multiple authors and includes contributions from various artists, audiobook narrators, and editors. Notable contributors include Dan Abnett, Graham McNeill, James Swallow, among others, with cover art by artists like Neil Roberts and Philip Sibbering

This is a great series if you are a fan of Warhammer40k, the futuristic miniature wargame created by the Brith company Games Workshop. The Horus Heresy books will provide you an overall understanding of why the future Warhammer is the way it is since this series takes place 10k years before, that is, Warhammer 30k. If you like the tabletop miniatures wargame it’s a must-read.

The general tone of the reviews of those who have read this series has been positive. However, some readers have complained about the length of this series (as you can see, so far The Horus Heresy series is so far composed of 61 novels) since it narrates the story of different characters.

Is the Horus Heresy series finished?

Horus heresy book series order
Horus heresy book series order

Not yet, but it’s about to be. Horus Heresy is supposed to end with the events of Siege of Terra, which is (in theory) expanding to 8 books. It stands to reason that this series should be finished by 2024, but ey, it wouldn’t be bad if they announced more releases, don’t you think?

The more heresy the better! Yes, that’s the attitude.

List of all Horus Heresy books in order

The best order to read the Horus Heresy books is in the publication order, and you’ll find below a list with all the books that are part of this gripping tale. This sci-fi series is composed of 56 novels, therefore it’s a really long series. But hey, that’s a cool thing, it means more Heresy! These books are published by Black Library (as is any work related to Games Workshop).

Horus Heresy book order

Horus Heresy book order

Horus Heresy series


  • Black Library

Reading order:

  • Horus Rising
  • False Gods
  • Galaxy in Flames
  • The Flight of the Eisenstein
  • Fulgrim
  • Descent of Angels
  • Legion
  • Battle for the Abyss
  • Mechanicum
  • Tales of Heresy
  • Fallen Angels
  • A Thousand Sons
  • Nemesis
  • The First Heretic
  • Prospero Burns
  • Age of Darkness
  • The Outcast Dead
  • Deliverance Lost
  • Know No Fear
  • The Primarchs
  • Fear to Tread
  • Shadows of Treachery
  • Angel Exterminatus
  • Betrayer
  • Mark of Calth
  • Vulkan Lives
  • The Unremembered Empire
  • Scars
  • Vengeful Spirit
  • The Damnation of Pythos
  • Legacies of Betrayal
  • Deathfire
  • War Without End
  • Pharos
  • Eye of Terra
  • The Path of Heaven
  • The Silent War
  • Angels of Caliban
  • Praetorian of Dorn
  • Corax
  • The Master of Mankind
  • Garro
  • Shattered Legions
  • The Crimson King
  • Tallarn
  • Ruinstorm
  • Old Earth
  • The Burden of Loyalty
  • Wolfsbane
  • Born of Flame
  • Slaves to Darkness
  • Heralds of the Siege
  • Titandeath
  • The Buried Dagger
  • The Solar War
  • The Lost and the Damned
  • The First Wall
  • Saturnine
  • Mortis
  • Warhawk
  • Echoes of Eternity

Don’t miss this promotion:

take it before it ends:

Reading the Horus Heresy books in order is important because the series is structured to follow a chronological progression of events leading up to and during the Horus Heresy. Starting with the initial trilogy, the books establish the universe, characters, and the inciting incidents that spark the galactic civil war. While some titles can stand alone or explore events out of sequence, reading in order provides a clearer understanding of the overarching narrative, character development, and the complex political and military strategies at play. It ensures a cohesive experience and full appreciation of the depth and nuances of the series’ intricate plot, so make sure you follow our reading guide so you don’t miss a thing.

Before we leave, you can check out this post with books like Red Rising, an amazing compilation of stories set in fantastic universes.

I hope you enjoy this scifi series. Will you start reading the Horus Heresy books? don’t forget to leave a comment! Also, how did you discover this series? did you play to the tabletop board games or maybe it was thanks to the videogames? let’s start a nice debate!

16 Comments on "Horus Heresy book order [reading guide]"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series