Game of thrones similar books

Books like Game of Thrones

Looking for some books like Game of Thrones? This epic fantasy series has become one of the most notorious sagas ever written, of course, those who want to know how A Song Of Ice and Fire ends will have to wait a bit more (but let’s hope not as much as the predicted release dates for the last two books in this series).

Yes, given that we don’t know when A Song of Ice and Fire will be finished maybe looking for alternatives for Game of Thrones is not a bad idea.

In order to find similar books to Game of Thrones we might want to ask this, what makes this series so peculiar? This series has violence, sex, power struggle all this set in a medieval social order in which fantasy creatures, such as dragons, exist. Such combination is what makes ASOIAF pretty unique.

Is there any book like Game of Thrones? Of course not exactly the same, that would be plagiarism after all, but here you have some similar books to Game of Thrones:

List of books like Game of Thrones:

Here you have a list of suggestions of books like Game of Thrones, if you want to start reading any of this series just click on the book cover so you can buy the first novel on Amazon:

Malazan Book of The Fallen by Steven Erikson

https://amzn.to/2nP4gbB

 

Garden’s of the Moon

Malazan is probably the most similar book to Game of Thrones. The story is told from the point of view of different characters, there is violence, war, and even dragons. The main difference is that Malazan is not that focused on politics as GOT, focusing more on war instead. If you like long series Malazan is a great choice, since it is one of the longest fantasy series ever made.

A complex story with different plotlines.

The First Law by Joe Abercrombie

https://amzn.to/2oyeEEQ

 

The First Law

If you like grimdark stories, then The First Law is a good alternative. The main story is a trilogy, which is already concluded, aside from that there are some stand-alone novels and a prequel trilogy of which the first book, A little Hatred, was recently published.

The First Law has lots of action, it’s a world where there is a lot of suffering and violence. Even so, the author, Joe Abercrombie, manages to make you laugh more than once throughout his narrative.

Prince of Nothing by Scott Bakker

https://amzn.to/2pnQoFT

 

 

The Darkness That Comes Before

A trilogy with a philosophical touch. Prince of Nothing follows the point of view of different characters and the story takes place in the continent of Eärwa. In this story, there are different kinds of magic Gnostic and Anagogic.

One of the most characteristic aspects of this work is the relevance of philosophy in any sense of this story: the plot, the characters, and even the setting.

The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan

https://amzn.to/2nSJY0X

 

 

The Wheel of Time

A story written by Robert Jordan and finished by Brandon Sanderson. The Wheel of Time is one of those stories that follows the Hero’s Journey. The world-building in this saga is one of its most appealing aspects along with the politics and of course the story of the main character, Rand Al’Thor.

The Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson

https://amzn.to/2mS4Tk6

 

 

The Stormlight Archive

Fancy something different? The Stormlight Archive takes place in Roshar, a place in which an interesting meteorological phenomenon happens quite regularly: the highstorm. This phenomenon brings massive waves of water but this is not the most interesting thing, but the fact that highstorms provide Stormlight, an energy that can be stored and is used by the Surgebinders as a source for magic power.

This series is not finished though. The story is planned to be ten volumes long, until now only three of them have been published.

The Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone by Gregory Keyes

https://amzn.to/2ovtH1Q

 

 

The Briar King

A series that follows the story of Anne Dare, a girl destined to become the Born Queen. As most of the series already presented, the narrative is set with multiple points of views and the world building is great.

Dune by Frank Herbert

https://amzn.to/2oxJInQ

 

 

Dune

While all the book suggestions until now belong to the High Fantasy genre, this is not so for Dune. This story written by Frank Herbert is a science fiction story. Even though George R.R Martin does not cite Frank’s Herbert work as an inspiration, there are lots of similarities between both stories that make you think that Dune has one way or another influenced the work of George R. R Martin.

I hope you enjoyed this list of similar books to Game of Thrones? Are you going to start reading any of this series? Don’t forget to comment then!

Discover more on Wottaread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *