Shannara chronicles books

Shannara books in order a series by Terry Brooks

With this Sword of Shannara reading order you will be able to read this series by Terry Brooks. It doesn’t matter if you know this series just because you love fantasy books or because you watched the tv series adaptation, the Shannara Chronicles, the only thing that matters is that you are seeking a list with the Shannara books in order and you will find it in this post.

Actually, you will find way more than the Shannara book order, not only you will learn some stuff about the author and his series, but you will also find an amazing The Sword of Shannara book set recommendation, make sure you don’t miss it because it is a great way to start the books of the Shannara Chronicles.

The Sword of Shannara reading order, what is the best way to read this series by Terry Brooks?

There are two different Shannara book orders. You will have to choose between the Shannara publication order and the chronological order. I suggest you read The Sword of Shannara in publication order, this way you will read the series the way the author imagined it, and it is also the way Terry Brooks recommends to read his work if this is your first read of his series.

Here you have all the Shannara books in order of publication, if you want them in chronological order you will find a list below. Remember that if you want to check out any of the books in the list you only have to click on the cover, the link will take you to Amazon (it opens in a new tab):

Let’s begin with the Shannara reading order, first you have to start with the original trilogy:

Continuing with this Shannara book order it’s time for the epilogue and the graphic novel:

Then comes a saga known as The Heritage of Shannara:

The next book to read in this Shannara series order is the prequel:

Now it’s time for The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara:

shannara reading order

Ilse Witch

▷See Now!

shannara books in order


▷See Now!

shannara book order


▷See Now!

The next series is this Shannara reading order is the High Druid of Shannara:

shannara reading order

Jarka Ruus

▷See Now!

shannara books in order


▷See Now!

shannara book order


▷See Now!

The next series in the Sword of Shannara is the Genesis of Shannara:

After this comes a duology, Legends of Shannara:

This list of Shannara books in order is not over yet, now you should be reading The Dark Legacy of Shannara series:

terry brooks shannara reading order

Wards of Faerie

▷See Now!

sword of shannara reading order

Bloodfire Quest

▷See Now!

shannara chronicles reading order

Witch Wraith

▷See Now!

The next series in The Sword’s of Shannara is Paladins of Shannara, which is only available for Kindle:

This Sword of Shannara reading order is about to end, now it’s the turn for the Defenders of Shannara:

And the last series in this Sword of Shannara reading order is the Fall of Shannara, which is an unfinished series by the way (the next book of this series will be released in October 2020):

Now that you have the Shannara reading order, it wouldn’t be a bad idea to get a Shannara book set don’t you think?

You didn’t think that the Shannara series by Terry Brooks would be this long, isn’t it? this is why getting a Shannara book set is a great idea to start reading this series.

Here you have four different Shannara books sets, the first one collects 20 books in the series.

No products found.

The other sets collect the books in the original series (and the prequel), The Heritage of Shannara, and The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara respectively.

List of the Shannara Chronicles books in order (Chronological)

In case you want to read the Shannara books in chronological order here you have a list with all the Sword of Shannara books:

shannara books

Shannara reading order

Shannara books in order
Keyword shannara books, the elfstones of shannara, the shannara chronicles books


  • Del Rey

Reading order:

  • Armageddon’s Children (Genesis of Shannara)
  • The Elves of Cintra (Genesis of Shannara)
  • The Gypsy Morph (Genesis of Shannara)
  • Bearers of the Black Staff (Legends of Shannara)
  • The Measure of the Magic (Legends of Shannara)
  • First King of Shannara (Shannara Prequel)
  • Allanon’s Quest  (E-story)
  • The Sword of Shannara (Original Shannara series)
  • The Black Irix  (E-story)
  • The Elfstones of Shannara (Original Shannara series)
  • The Weapons Master’s Choice (E-story)
  • The Wishsong of Shannara (Original Shannara series)
  • Indomitable ((Epilogue))
  • Dark Wraith of Shannara ((Graphic novel))
  • The Scions of Shannara (The Heritage of Shannara)
  • The Druid of Shannara (The Heritage of Shannara)
  • The Elf Queen of Shannara (The Heritage of Shannara)
  • The Talismans of Shannara (The Heritage of Shannara)
  • Ilse Witch (The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara)
  • Antrax (The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara)
  • Morgawr (The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara)
  • Jarka Ruus (High Druid of Shannara)
  • Tanequil (High Druid of Shannara)
  • Straken (High Druid of Shannara)
  • Wards of Faerie (The Dark Legacy of Shannara)
  • Bloodfire Quest (The Dark Legacy of Shannara)
  • Witch Wraith (The Dark Legacy of Shannara)
  • The High Druid’s Blade (Defenders of Shannara)
  • The Darkling Child (Defenders of Shannara)
  • The Sorcerer’s Daughter (Defenders of Shannara)
  • The Black Elfstone (The Fall of Shannara)
  • The Skaar Invasion (The Fall of Shannara)
  • The Stiehl Assassin (The Fall of Shannara)
  • The Last Druid (The Fall of Shannara)

Don’t miss this promotion:

take it before it ends:

What is this series about?

The Shannara Chronicles by Terry Brooks is a high fantasy story which centers on different characters but that starts narrating the quest of two brothers, Shea and Flick Ohmsford, who want to find the Sword of Shannara, a powerful magical sword with which they will be able to defeat the Warlock Lord.

This adventure takes place in The Four Lands, which is actually a futuristic alternate version of our planet Earth which has been affected by an atomic war (known as The Great Wars), as a result, this series takes place in a remodeled United States and Canada.

Each of these lands is inhabited by different creatures, the  Westland is the homeland for the elves, while in the Eastland gnomes and dwarves cohabit.

Terry Brooks’s novels have an average rating of 3.96 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, being rated by more than 780,000 readers, and having more than 21,000 reviews. The reason why this book series has less than four stars is that some readers consider the plot resembles too much to the Lord of The Rings. Also, given that the book was written in 1,977, it has a classic style of writing, which some fantasy readers do not fancy.

If you are looking for other fantasy series to read you can take a look at The Throne of Glass series order. Also, you can check out Raymond E. Feist books, a series known as the Riftwar saga.

Will you start reading the books of The Chronicles of Shannara? did you know about this series because you like fantasy books or was it thanks to the tv adaptation? in case you have watched the show and read the books, would you say the adaptation does justice to the books by Terry Brooks? leave a comment so we can start a nice debate on the comments section!

Discover more on Wottaread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series