The Prince of Nothing bookcovers

The Prince of Nothing series

Hello Wottareaders, have you heard of The Prince of Nothing series? let’s know more about this fantasy story:

What should I know about this saga?

The Prince of Nothing is a fantasy series written by R. Scott Baker. The narrative is set in the fictional continent of Eärwa, and the story is told from the point of view of several characters as are Drusas Achamian, Esmenet or Cnaiür urs Skiötha.

This series tells the story of the Holy War, being told by the different perspective of characters from the Inrithi kingdoms. In The Prince of Nothing, philosophy is quite a relevant aspect that will be noticeable in both the characters and the plot.

The original series has a sequel, The Aspect-Emperor, together they are known as The Second Apocalypse series.

Is Prince of nothing worth reading?

Take note that this is not a The Prince of Nothing review, even so: you should give Prince of Nothing a try if you like consistent worldbuilding, layered characters, and a tight plot. The author mentioned Tolkien and Frank Herbert as his main influences. You might not be surprised that this fantasy author was influenced by Tolkien since J.R.R Tolkien is a reference for all modern authors.

However, as it happens to other series like Malazan Book of the Fallen, a lot of characters are introduced so it can be a bit difficult to handle for the less experienced fantasy readers.  This series contains sexual violence also if you are sensitive with such topic this series might not be for you.

Do I need to read The Prince of Nothing  before

What order should I read The Prince of Nothing series?

The best order to read The Prince of Nothing series of novels is the published order. This is a relatively short series compared to the longest fantasy series ever written.

Here you have How to read The Prince of Nothing series:

The Prince of Nothing bookcovers

How to read The Prince of Nothing

Reading order:

  • The Darkness That Comes Before 
  • The Warrior Prophet 
  • The Thousandfold Thought 

If you liked this series, you can read it’s sequel afterward, The Aspect-Emperor, a tetralogy that takes place twenty years after the events of R. Scott Bakker’s debut trilogy:

The prince of Nothing sequel

How to read The Aspect-Emperor

Reading order:

  • The Judging Eye 
  • The White-Luck Warrior 
  • The Great Ordeal 
  • The Unholy Consult 

Do I need to read The Prince of Nothing before reading The Aspect Emperor?

Given that The Aspect Emperor is the sequel of the original source, it might not be the best idea to read the sequel first since you might not know about of the events that took place 20 years before. Or even worse, the sequel might spoil you the evens occurring in The Prince of Nothing.

Hope you give this series a chance.

Discover more on Wottaread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *