books like house of leaves

Books similar to House of Leaves

Lots of readers are seeking books like House of Leaves now, but this was not always the case: this book was quite ignored during the first few years of its publication, and it wasn’t until later when it gained some notoriety. The House of Leaves is not like any other book you may have read. Exuding ergodic literature, the book is arranged rather differently with footnotes inside footnotes. Similarly, on some pages, the text is arranged in a way to give a claustrophobic effect while on others, you’d have to rotate the book to read that specific page. It’s understandable why someone would want to read similar books to House of Leaves.

BLACKFRIDAY ENG BANNER

Let’s discuss the best books like House of Leaves that will keep you hooked until the last page and will have you thinking about the story’s events for days.

Finding books like House of Leaves

Books similar to House of Leaves

House of Leaves is told through different narrators, thus different perspectives. Overall, it tells the story of a model, Karen Green, and a successful photojournalist, Will Navidson, who move into a new home with their kids, Chad and Daisy. When they come home from a trip to Seattle, they notice a change in their home. The space is much bigger on the inside than it appears from the outside, and a door appears in a place where there was previously just a wall.

To learn about similar books to House of Leaves, keep reading on, and you’ll find books just as engrossing as this one.

List of Books like House of Leaves

In this list, we have included books along the same theme and genre as House of Leaves.

Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk: a must in a list of books like House of Leaves

An ad appears in the newspaper that calls on artists to abandon their lives for three months at a retreat. In reality, the ‘retreat’ appears to be a theatre where the 23 people who have replied to the ad are kept with little food and no heating. As things get tense and food grows short, their stories become more haunting and stomach-churning.

The Zombie Room by R. D. Ronald: a different approach among these books similar to House of Leaves

Three men form a strong bond as they serve time in prison. When they are released, they go back to their criminal ways but find themselves deep in a sex-trafficking operation.

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

Eva is the mother of a boy who killed seven high school students, but she’s also a teacher loved by all.

Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

Published in 1962, this is a dark fantasy novel that tells the story of two best friends, thirteen years of age, and their chilling encounter with a traveling carnival in their town.

Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon

Set following the Second World War, the novel has a huge cast thorough in which we learn the secret of a deadly device called the Schwarzgerät. Even the cover is already disturbing in this one, don’t you think?

Bird Box by Josh Malerman

Set in a post-apocalyptic world, the novel follows a woman who has to take herself and her children to a safe place without opening her eyes.

One Rainy Day in May by Mark Z. Danielewski

The first installment in the 27-book series called The Familiar, this novel has nine narratives and covers the events spanning over 24 hours.

Was this list of books like House of Leaves enough for you? hope it was! If you like dystopian stories then you must check out this new post with lots of books like The Giver, don’t miss it if you liked that book!

If you are wondering if there will be a movie adaptation of this novel we have bad news for you: there won’t be. Author Mark Z. Danielewski stated he won’t let House of Leaves have a movie adaptation. Also, as always, in case you know other books similar to House of Leaves you can always use the contact form or just leave a comment with your suggestions.

Discover more on Wottaread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *