the chronicles of narnia books order

The Chronicles of Narnia books in order by C.S. Lewis

Here you will find The Chronicles of Narnia books in order by C.S Lewis, this is one of the most renowned fantasy series for kids, and it happens to be a must-read even if you become an adult a long time ago. There are many things we’ve got to tell you about this story, so keep reading until the end because we have all the answers.

Also, you will find a great The Chronicles of Narnia book set recommendation at the end of this post, it has a 4.8 star rating out of 5 having more than 3,000 reviews already, so don’t miss it if you like to collect books! In case you are concerned about The Chronicles of Narnia reading level, you will find it at the end of this post.

The Chronicles of Narnia book reading order by C.S Lewis

The best reading order for the Chronicles of Narnia book series is in publication order. Why? Because this is how C.S. Lewis conceived his story, however, you can read them chronologically if that’s your thing (just start with The Magician’s Nephew then). Here you have all the novels, if you click on their cover you will be able to get any of these classics.

The art in the Narnia books is just amazing, so they would look great in your bookshelf. This is a 5 star rated (it has more than 3,375 ratings) The Chronicles of Narnia book set in which you can choose to get the paperback or hardcovers:

This Chronicles of Narnia book set would be the perfect present for a birthday party, or for yourself, why not right?

Now that you know the order of the Chronicles of Narnia series don’t miss these books

There are many other fantasy worlds for you to discover. But many might be a lot to handle, so we chose 3 books that have a similar vibe to the Chronicles of Narnia books:

Speaking of popular books for children, here you have all the Harry Potter books in order, in case you haven’t read one of the most popular book series ever. It’s fine if you haven’t read them, however, while they might not be considered to be a classic yet, we know that it will be so sooner or later.

Not even close to being enough? we know that feeling very well, people who enjoy the Narnia book series usually enjoy Paolini’s work, and that’s why we are confident you’ll find this list of books similar to Eragon more than handful. You know his books, don’t you? the story of a boy who befriends a dragon, there was a movie about it!

What is this series about?

the chronicles of narnia book order
The Chronicles of Narnia book order

The Chronicles of Narnia books by C.S. Lewis is a bestselling series that has sold over 100 million copies worldwide. The story centers on a group of children who travel to a fictional fantasy world, Narnia, in which animals are able to talk and magic is a thing.

These children will be in charge to help the Aslan, who happens to be a talking lion as well as a deity in the Narnian world, to protect this fantasy world from evil. This time, Aslan needs help, and these children are willing to fight so to defeat anyone who is willing to disturb the peace that reigns in Narnia.

This series is a classic in literature, and the first book is one of the best-selling fantasy books of all time. Most of the fans know this story thanks to the adaptation produced by Disney, however, this project was canceled before all the events that take place in the books were fully covered. A sad outcome, no doubt.

For some reason, there is a peculiar belief that The Narnia book series is in the public domain. This is just not true, this will be so in the year 2034. The books are published by Harper Collins, so no, they are not yet free to use.

List with the Chronicles of Narnia books in chronological order: is it better to read the Narnia books in publication order or chronologically?

Early in this post we recommended you read the Chronicles of Narnia books in publication order, and we stand by that statement. The reason for this is simple when C.S. Lewis conceived this series he first wrote The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, and it wouldn’t be until five years later (1955) that he published the prequel, The Magician’s Nephew. This is one of those cases in which we believe it’s better not to start with the prequel, but to read it afterward.

Having said this, you can obviously turn a deaf ear to this recommendation and read them chronologically. If that’s your choice, here’s a list of the Narnia series in chronological order:

Narnia books in order

Narnia books in order

chronicles of narnia order
Keyword chronicles of narnia order, narnia books, narnia books in order, the chronicles of narnia books


  •  HarperCollins Publishers

Reading order:

  • The Magician’s Nephew
  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  • The Horse and His Boy
  • Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia
  • The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  • The Silver Chair
  • The Last Battle

Don’t miss this promotion:

take it before it ends:

Some people say that it is better to read the Narnia books in order or publication. Others don’t think the same, and think that it’s better to read the Narnia books in chronological order. Truth is, C.S Lewis said that ” perhaps it does not matter very much in which order anyone read them

In case you were wondering, the movies followed the original publication order.

What is The Chronicles of Narnia reading level?

The Chronicles of Narnia reading level is grade six. This series is recommended to read for children older than eight years old.

The Chronicles of Narnia is going to have a new adaptation produced by Netflix. However, the Narnia books have already been adapted several times and in different formats, such as film, stage, television, and radio.

If you are more into Young adult fantasy, then you should give a try to this series by Sarah J. Mass: Throne of glass series order.

Will you start reading the Narnia books? or instead would you rather watch the Netflix’s adaptation first? do you think this one will be a good adaptation or will it be a disappointment as was the first film adaptation that was canceled? feel free to post your opinion so we can have a nice debate in the comments section.

1 Comment on "The Chronicles of Narnia books in order by C.S. Lewis"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series