Books like Mistborn

Similar books to Mistborn

Are you struggling to find books like Mistborn? not anymore. Brandon Sanderson has created a fantasy world where mist covers the nights and ashes rule the day. After following Vin’s journey to save the Final Empire, if you’re still yearning for more, other books similar to Mistborn can feed your fantasy-hungry mind. The date of Sanderson’s eighth book of the series, Mistborn: The Lost Metal, is still undetermined.

While you wait for it, get your dose of fantasy from books similar to Mistborn. We have put together a list of the best books like Mistborn. Each of these books has its splendid world weaved with the thread of magic and fiction.

Books like Mistborn, what are we looking for?

The Mistborn series takes place in Scadrial, a fictional world which is a wasteland of volcanic ash falls. At night, the world is covered in a cloudy mist while the morning Sun is a deep red. Allomancers are genetically-able people who can ingest 16 metal to enhance their capabilities. Mistborn: The Final Empire follows Vin’s, an Allomancer, quest to overthrow the Lord Ruler, and save the world.

Mistborn leaves you amazed and breathless at its deeply-woven history and incredible work of fiction. However, like all other excellent book series, it comes to an end. You can read books similar to Mistborn to experience fantasy from other authors’ eyes.

List of Books like Mistborn

Here are some of the books that will take you on the same fantastical journey as Mistborn:

The Magician’s Guild by Trudi Canavan: a must have in a list of books like Mistborn

Published in 2001, The Magician’s Guild narrates the story of Sonea, a slum-dwelling girl with potential magical powers. Her troubles begin when she throws a stone as a magician behind a magical barrier. As she runs from the Guild, they try to find her to tame her powers and train her.

The Sword’s Choice by I.M Redwright: an indie book like Mistborn

A new fantasy series with magical swords and a similar setting to Avatar the Last Airbender. In this story, the main character has decided to travel the four worlds fighting powerful enemies with his sword of fire. Treason, politics, giants, a great read.

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin, a similar book to Mistborn but more darker

A Song of Ice and Fire, beginning in 1996, is a series of fantasy novels set in the fictional world of Westeros. While the rulers of Westeros’ Houses fight for power, White Walkers, dead beings in thousands, advance towards the country as winter approaches.

Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson

With ten volumes, the Malazan Book of the Fallen tells the story of multiple characters living in different continents over the course of thousands of years.

The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan

Spanning fourteen volumes, The Wheel of Time covers mythological elements from Europe and Asia. The series is known for its remarkably-created imaginary world, where past and future exist simultaneously, and a massive cast of characters.

If you are thinking of reading this series you will find this post with The Wheel of Time reading order really useful.

The Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan

Praised by Brandon Sanderson himself, the Promise of Blood combines modern-day guns with mage supernatural powers to evoke suspense.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Red Rising is a dystopian work of fiction set on Mars, a future planet. The novel follows the story of Darrow, who aims to infiltrate the high Society through Gold impersonation.

Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan

If you thought Mistborn was a bit slow in storytelling, you’d appreciate the faster pace of Theft of Swords. Two rogues, Royce Melborn and Hadrian Blackwater, run for their lives when they’re framed for murdering the ruler. What follows is a tale of ultimate adventure and unlikely heroism.

Also, take a look at this list of books like Throne of Glass.

I guarantee you’d enjoy reading these books as much as Mistborn. Let us know about your favorite epic fantasy novel in the comments below, do you know any other books like Misborn? then do not hesitate to leave a comment!

Discover more on Wottaread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *