Fantastic Beasts books in order

Fantastic Beasts book series order

Here you will find the Fantastic Beasts books in order, the series starred by Magizoologist Newt Scamander, who will find himself in the middle of a quest to save the muggles from a dangerous wizard who has a special connection with Dumbledore. A must-read for all the Potterheads around the world, no doubt.

We collected all the books in this spin-off prequel series. But there’s much more, let’s find it out. (takes wand out) Revelio!

Fantastic Beasts books in order by J.K Rowling

This trilogy series is authored by J.K. Rowling (she was the screenwriter of the films). It might be worth mentioning that these books are Fantastic Beasts written in the form of a screenplay (as was already done with The Cursed Child). Here you have the Fantastic Beasts books in order, we chose the most gorgeous edition out there (The Milanima version), which has such astonishing book covers:

Bear in mind that the first volume in the series is based on another book by the same name. That is, there’s also the book shown below, which is a sort of encyclopedia of magical creatures:

It might be a little confusing that there are two books penned by the same author that have the same name. This is because this compendium became so popular that it inspired the author into making it part of a bigger project that was actually connected to the characters shown in the original books.

Now that you know the order of the Fantastic Beasts book series don’t miss these

Do you miss the wizarding world? or maybe you are ready for some new adventures? it doesn’t matter what the case is, here is the answer you needed:

Needless to say that before reading the Fantastic Beasts series you should have already finished the original series, a duty for which you’ll find a list of the Harry Potter books in order more than handy.

And, since you are probably wondering: the Fantastic Beasts series takes place before the events shown in the Harry Potter series. Does this mean you should read these novels before starting the story about the boy who survived his encounter with the most powerful wizard of all time? not at all. This is one of those rare cases in which we suggest you read the novels in publication order, that is, first the original series and then the Fantastic Beast books. Trust us, it makes much more sense this way.

Also, here’s this list with some book series similar to the Harry Potter books.

What are these books about?

Fantastic Beasts series order
Fantastic Beasts series order

The Fantastic Beasts books center on Newt Scamander, a Magizoologist who loves to help and collect rare magical creatures (a sort of Pokemon Master but in the Harry Potter universe). His travel to New York but will get interesting when all the magical beings he carries on his case escape all around the city, he must make sure he gets every single one of them in no time if he doesn’t want to get into trouble.

But what New Scamander would have never guessed is that he will get involved in one of the most tragical events in wizarding history: the rise of Gellert Grindelwald into power, a wizard who wishes to enslave muggles (seeing them as inferior creatures). For those who have read the HP books, you will already know who this man is, and how close he was to Dumbledore…

Also, while it might not seem so, the events in the 3 books of this trilogy are connected. Which means that you should read the Fantastic books in publication order.

In the movies, the role of Grindelwald was interpreted by two authors. In the first two movies, it was Johny Depp, lately (due to the allegations by Amber Heard), he was replaced by Mads Mikkelsen.

A list of all the Fantastic Beasts books in order

Here’s a list of the Fantastic Beasts series in order. These books are published by Pottermore Publishing, the reading age recommendation is for children older than 9 years old.

Fantastic Beasts book series order

Fantastic Beasts books in order

Fantastic Beasts – J.K. Rowling


  • Pottermore

Reading order:

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Fantastic Beasts book 1)
  • The Crimes of Grindelwald (Fantastic Beasts book 2)
  • The Secrets of Dumbledore (Fantastic Beasts book 3)

Don’t miss this promotion:

take it before it ends:

Will there be more books in this series? as said before, these novels are an adaptation of the movies, so far there’s no news that may lead us into thinking that there may be a new adventure starred by Newt Scamander, would you like more stories starred by this popular magizoologist? Leave a comment and tell us!

Wait, remember to read the classics, here’s The Chronicles of Narnia reading order, one of the most popular series for kids.

Now that you know the order of the Fantastic Beasts books you have no excuse to start reading this spin-off series! we are deeply curious, have you watched the movies already? leave a comment and tell us if you enjoyed them and if you think that they are a good addition to the HP franchise!

1 Comment on "Fantastic Beasts book series order"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series