anita blake series in order

Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake series in order

We finally have a list with the Anita Blake series in order, the prevalent novels by Laurell K. Hamilton. This New York Times Bestseller happens to be quite long but fear not, here you will find what the best way to start reading these novels is.

Horror, romance, mystery… there’s a bit of that in this female vampire hunter story. Aren’t you thrilled? let’s do this

Anita Blake book series in order by Laurell K. Hamilton

So far there are more than 20 novels in this series, however, we believe that there will be even more. Here you have all the Anita Blake books in order:

If you want to get all the Anita Blake novels then these sets are a great start. The first one collects books 1 to 4, while the other one 6 to 10 (which means you’ll have to get book 5 individually though)

There’s another set that collects the first 5 books in the series, sadly, it is only available for Kindle.

Now that you know the order of The Anita Blake series don’t miss these books

We have so much to show you aside from telling you what’s the reading order of the Anita Blake series. For instance, do you know what you will read next once you have finished all these novels? if not, here are 3 great book suggestions.

If you want to delve into Laurell K. Hamilton’s work then the Merry Gentry novels are a great follow-up. These stories focus on a faery princess who disguises herself as a human and works as a private invest solving paranormal mysteries taking place in Los Angeles city. We recommend you first read all the Anita Blake books in order, then start with this one. By the way, if you find paranormal detectives are your thing then don’t miss this post with the Dresden Files books in order, you’ll love it.

Maybe you are already familiar with everything related to Laurell K. Hamilton’s work? Then the Jane Yellowork, and The Mercy Thompson series have a similar tone. So make sure you add them both to your TBR list!

Fancy more stories about a hunter? then here’s the Dark Hunter reading order, there are greek demigods in this one!

What is this story about?

Anita Blake books in order
Anita Blake books in order

The Ania Blake books tell us about a vampire hunter of the same name who will kill any undead who causes trouble in the city of St Louis (Laurell K. Hamilton lives in this very same city by the way). It is a paranormal story with lots of romance, sex (see warning below), and adventure.

While there are many books, they are easy to read because each of them can be read as a standalone. That is, each novel has a different plot (usually revolving around solving a paranormal murder scene or anything of a similar sort).

If each of the novels in this series is self-contained, do you really need to read the Anita Blake series in order? to be honest, it is not mandatory to do so. They can be read as a standalone, however, we believe you’ll have a greater experience if you read the books in published order (the way we suggested early in this very same post). In case you decide to read them your own way, we strongly suggest that you at least read Guilty Pleasures first, after this just pick the ones that interest you the most.

A fair warning: This story contains explicit sex scenes, including group sex. So make sure you are not sensitive to this before starting this series because there’s a lot of it among its pages.

Do you want a brief anticipation of the tone of this series? here are two of the most popular quotes from book 1:

Anita Blake book 1 quotes
Anita Blake book 1 quotes

A list of the Anita Blake book series in order

Here’s you have a list with the Anit Blake reading order, we suggest you read this book series by Laurell K. Hamilton this way:

Anita Blake books

Anita Blake series in order

Anita Blake – Laurell K. Hamilton


  • Berkley

Reading order:

  • Guilty Pleasures  (Anita Blake book 1)
  • The Laughing Corpse  (Anita Blake book 2)
  • Circus of the Damned  (Anita Blake book 3)
  • The Lunatic Cafe  (Anita Blake book 4)
  • Bloody Bones  (Anita Blake book 5)
  • The Killing Dance  (Anita Blake book 6)
  • Burnt Offerings  (Anita Blake book 7)
  • Blue Moon  (Anita Blake book 8)
  • Obsidian Butterfly  (Anita Blake book 9)
  • Narcissus in Chains  (Anita Blake book 10)
  • Cerulean Sins  (Anita Blake book 11)
  • Incubus Dreams  (Anita Blake book 12)
  • Micah  (Anita Blake book 13)
  • Danse Macabre  (Anita Blake book 14)
  • The Harlequin  (Anita Blake book 15)
  • Blood Noir  (Anita Blake book 16)
  • Skin Trade  (Anita Blake book 17)
  • Flirt  (Anita Blake book 18)
  • Bullet  (Anita Blake book 19)
  • Hit List  (Anita Blake book 20)
  • Kiss the Dead  (Anita Blake book 21)
  • Affliction  (Anita Blake book 22)
  • Jason  (Anita Blake book 23)
  • Dead Ice  (Anita Blake book 24)
  • Crimson Death  (Anita Blake book 25)
  • Serpentine  (Anita Blake book 26)
  • Sucker Punch  (Anita Blake book 27)
  • Rafael  (Anita Blake book 28)
  • Smolder (Anita Blake book 29)

Don’t miss this promotion:

take it before it ends:

Will there be more books in the series? we are confident there will be, there’s much to tell and lots of vampires to hunt by Anita so stay tuned because we’ll add every new novel as soon as it gets published. You can join our newsletter so you won’t miss any new releases by your favorite authors

Still hungry for more reads? then don’t miss the Devil’s Night series, a dark romance.

We are more than thrilled, will you read the Anita Blake series in order or you will read them randomly instead? Leave a comment and tell us which will be your approach to start reading these novels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series