the last apprentice series in order

The Last Apprentice books in order

We hope you are ready for some dark fantasy because we have prepared a list with The Last Apprentice series in order. These books are written by British author Joseph Delaney and they are also known as Spook’s since that is the original name of the series.

You may also know this series as The Wardstone Chronicles, because it’s the title of the first arch. Yes, it has a lot of names. Also, did you know that the movie Seventh Son was inspired by this series? yes, we’ll tell you a bit about this at the end of this post.

The Last Apprentice series in order by Joseph Delaney

This story is quite long, and not only is composed of several books but there is also more than one arc. We recommend you read The Last Apprentice series in order of publication. So, you should start with the original series, known as The Wardstone Chronicles, a total of 13 novels (yes, it is concluded):

Once you have finished them you can read its sequel, The Starblade Chronicles, a trilogy in which we see Tom Ward as a Spook, fighting every threat to the County.

If you want to start this series then you can get this The Last Apprentice book set that collects the first 3 volumes in the series:

We have been asked many times if this series is scary or not, and the truth is it is hard to tell, because while some readers consider some of the events kind of spooky, others believe that it is just scary if you are a young kid. So it may be worth mentioning that the Last Apprentice books are addressed to teenagers over 12 years old.

Now that you know the order of the Last Apprentice series don’t miss these books

As you can see, you have lots of books to deal with in this series, so it may take you a while to finish all the Last Apprentice books. However, that day will come before you ever expected, and to fill that need of new adventures here you have some similar series:

No products found.

If the spooky aspect of these books by Joseph Delaney is what captivated you to read The Last apprentice then you might enjoy the Lockwood & Co series should be your next read for sure. This series is written by Jonathan Stroud, known for the NY Times bestselling Bartimaeus books.

On the other side, The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan is a great alternative if what you enjoy is high fantasy and adventure.

What are these books about?

The Last Apprentice books tell the story of Thomas the boy who happens to be the last hope for the county to become the Spook, a human that fights the dark, has a wide knowledge of the evil creatures, and also happens to be the Seventh Son of a Seventh Son.

Their mission is to protect the county from paranormal evil creatures and so far none of the apprentices have succeeded to become a Spook. Only Thomas Ward is left, will he be able to learn how to defeat the dark side?

The seventh son of a seventh son thing was actually a concept from folklore which you may have heard before in other stories. In fact, it might be kinda familiar and maybe confusing to you if you have read the Discworld series. Because in these novels author Terry Pratchett talks about eighth sons of eighth sons usually becoming wizards (since number 8 is a powerful magical number in this fictional fantasy universe).

A list with the Last Apprentice series in order

Here you have a list with all the Last Apprentice books in order. The series is concluded (yay!), and you can read the sequel once you finish it:

The Last Apprentice series in order

The Last Apprentice – Joseph Delaney


  • Greenwillow Books

Reading order:

  • Revenge of the Witch (The Last Apprentice book 1)
  • Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice book 2)
  • Night of the Soul Stealer (The Last Apprentice book 3)
  • Attack of the Fiend (The Last Apprentice book 4)
  • Wrath of the Bloodeye (The Last Apprentice book 5)
  • Clash of the Demons (The Last Apprentice book 6)
  • Rise of the Huntress (The Last Apprentice book 7)
  • Rage of the Fallen (The Last Apprentice book 8)
  • Grimalkin the Witch Assassin (The Last Apprentice book 9)
  • Lure of the Dead  (The Last Apprentice book 10)
  • Slither’s Tale (The Last Apprentice book 11)
  • Alice (The Last Apprentice book 12)
  • Fury of the Seventh Son (The Last Apprentice book 13)
  • A New Darkness (Starblade Chronicles 1)
  • The Dark Army  (Starblade Chronicles 2)
  • The Dark Assassin (Starblade Chronicles 3)

Don’t miss this promotion:

take it before it ends:

There is also a movie based on this series, The Seventh Son, it did poorly in theatres, so what was supposed to be a popular movie franchise ended up being canceled.

In addition, you might have realized that Spooks are in a way similar to witchers, so you will surely enjoy The Witcher series as well.

Have you started reading The Last Apprentice book series? Tell us if you think they are scary or not!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series