the penderwicks series in order

The Penderwicks book order

Do you want to enjoy the story of the most charming family ever? you better! because we got a list with the Penderwicks series in order. This multi-awarded series is written by author Jeanne Birdsall centers on four sisters and their widowed father, and we have not the slightest doubt that you will be rooting for all of them before you get to the third chapter of the first novel!

The good thing is that while this series is addressed to children, it tells one of those stories that will captivate you as an adult as well. But be aware: the Penderwicks books might make you cry, and also make you laugh.

The Penderwicks series in order by Jeanne Birdsall

You should read The Penderwicks books in order of publication, the series is composed of five volumes and we collected them all for you. You can get any of the 5 books by clicking on their cover:

Do you want to get the complete collection? then you should get this superb box set that collects all the books in The Penderwicks series. It has a rating of 5 out of 5 stars of Amazon, which proves that everyone who bought it was happy with their purchase.

This series has been praised for the imperfection of their characters, that is, they are perfect for being flawed, which means, they are humans we can relate to. Who likes to read about perfect people, right? Boring!

Now that we told you the order of the Penderwick series don’t miss these books

We are more than sure that you, or your kids (maybe both), will devour Jeanne Birdsall’s The Penderwick series in no time. Therefore, we made a shortlist of book suggestions that you will enjoy as well since they have the same tone and are addressed to the same audience:

If you are seeking fun Liz Pichon’s amazing series is one of the best choices you can make, here you will find the order of the tom gates books, there are lots of them by the way!

What about a story of the funniest pig ever? then don’t miss the Mercy Watson series, because it is just hilarious.

Also, don’t forget that you can leave a comment with your suggestions!

What are these books about?

the penderwicks book order

These books tell us about the Penderwick family, composed of Mr. Penderwick,  a widowed man, his four daughters, and their dog. Each of the volumes tells us a different story concerning this adorable family. 

In the first volume for example they will make a trip to the Arundel Cottage, in which they will make the most interesting friends. Meanwhile, in the second book Mr. Penderwick starts considering dating a woman, but his daughters won’t think that’s a good idea.

As a side note, each of the four girls of this family has a similar personality to the main characters of the classic Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.

Author Jeanne Birdsall has won several prestigious awards.  In fact, the first volume in the series won the  National Book Awards in 2005 for Young People’s Literature

A list with the Penderwick series in order

This series is concluded, and here is a list of Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwick books in order. While it’s true that each of the volumes tells a self conclusive story, we believe you’ll have a greater experience if you read this series in publication order:

the penderwicks Jeanne Birdsall

The Penderwicks series in order

The Penderwicks – Jeanne Birdsall


  • Yearling

Reading order:

  • The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy (The Penderwicks book 1)
  • The Penderwicks on Gardam Street (The Penderwicks book 2)
  • The Penderwicks at Point Mouette (The Penderwicks book 3)
  • The Penderwicks in Spring (The Penderwicks book 4)
  • The Penderwicks at Last (The Penderwicks book 5)

Don’t miss this promotion:

take it before it ends:

Published by Yearling; Reissue, The Penderwicks reading level is grades 3-7 with a Lexile level of 800L.  It’s addressed to children between 8 and 12 years old, however, a more mature audience will enjoy the vicissitudes of this funny and lovely family.

the penderwicks books
The Penderwicks books

Also, we believe your kids will find The Timmy Failure books incredibly fun, so if you want them to have a great time reading don’t let them miss that series as well.

Have you started the Penderwick series? if so, leave a comment telling us which of the 4 daughters is your favorite! are you like Rosalind? or maybe your personality is more like Skye?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this book series