similar books to Kingkiller Chronicle

Books like The Kingkiller Chronicles

Looking for some books like Kingkiller Chronicles while Patrick Rothfuss writes the last volume in the series? The story of Kvothe is pretty unique, even so, there are other fantasy stories that have some similarities to Kingkiller’s.

Finding what makes this story special: the key to find books like Kingkiller Chronicle

At this point you have probably wondered the following question: are there any books similar to The Kingkiller Chronicles?

The answer is yes, but in order to find similar books to The Kingkiller Chronicles we might want to ask ourselves the following question: what makes Kvothe’s story so special? Maybe the impressive abilities and talents of Kvothe, others may say the music, the storytelling combining first and third person, the magic system. It is difficult to choose one, probably because the answer is the conjunction of all of these traits. However, having identified these, it is easy to find similar books to The Name of the Wind.

Don’t know what to read after Kingkiller Chronicles? No problem, I have a list of books like The Kingkiller Chronicle:

Top list of books like The Kingkiller Chronicle

Here goes a great list of similar books to The Kingkiller Chronicle. If you want to start reading any of these sagas and want to buy the first book in the series just click on the book cover and you will be able to buy it on Amazon:

The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb

https://amzn.to/2Va2RZh

Farseer Trilogy

This story takes place in a kingdom called The Six Duchies, The Farseer Trilogy centers on FitzChivalry Farseer (known as Fitz), he is a trained assassin and it is him who narrates the story (which makes it a similar book to Kingkiller Chronicle). In this story, the kingdom is attacked by the Raiders to take people from the Six Duchies and turn them into Forged Ones (creatures similar to zombies).

The Farseer Trilogy is a finished series. In addition, if you want to know more about Fitz you can read its sequel The Tawny Man Trilogy which is also finished.

Lightbringer by Brent Weeks

https://amzn.to/2IgWhLq

Lightbringer

This series was planned to be a trilogy, but eventually was extended to a pentalogy. The author describes his series as “a story of normal brothers—who happen to be in extraordinary circumstances”.

The story follows Prism’ Gavin Guile, the most powerful person in the world. The magic system is called Chromaturgy, in this, people with magic abilities (known as drafters) can transform light into a physical substance called Luxin.

This is a finished series. The last book of Lightbringer, The Burning White, was published on October 22, 2019

The Gentlemen Bastard Series by Scott Lynch

https://amzn.to/2Vb2zkV

Gentleman Bastards

This series takes place Therin Throne Empire, it tells the story of a professional thief and master of deception known as Locke Lamora. Each of the volumes that in this series have their own plot; that is they have a beginning and an ending. However, there are tons of references to events and characters from the previous books.

The Gentlemen Bastard is composed of seven books, only three of them are published. The third volume, The Republic of Thieves , was published in 2013; so if you are looking for finished series this one is not what you are looking for.

Riyria Revelations by Michael Sullivan

https://amzn.to/32UckGS

Riyria

This series narrates the story of Royce and Hadrian who together are known as Riyria. One day they a mysterious man offers them a huge amount of gold for stealing a sword owned by Count Pickering. While in the search of the sword they will find the dead body of the King and will be accused of his murder. And that is just the beginning…

Also, if you start reading this series and you like it then you can read its prequel The Riyria Chronicles, which consists of five books.

The Riftwar Saga by  Raymond E. Feisz

https://amzn.to/2Ils2mx

The Riftwar saga

This story takes place in the worlds of  Midkemia and Kelewan. In this magicians and other creatures with magical abilities are able to create rifts and therefore travel to other planets. This is a sequence of stories that occur in the same universe and are mostly self-contained, sharing only a few characters and plot.

 Human magicians and other creatures on the two planets are able to create rifts through dimensionless space that can connect planets in different solar systems.

The Riftwar Saga is a trilogy and it is finished. This series is included in The Riftwar Cycle, the name given to the books that revolve around the fantasy worlds of Midkemia and Kelewan. As a result, if you want to read more books set in the same universe you have nine additional sagas to read.

So here you have the list. If you were Itching for a book similar to The Kingkiller Chronicle I hope these similar books to Kvothe’s worked for you. Have you decided which of these books like The Kingkiller Chronicle you will start reading? Don’t forget to comment!

Also, i you are waiting for the last volume of The Kingkiller Chronicle you definitely should read this article: When will Kingkiller 3 be published?

Discover more on Wottaread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *